The Municipal Safety Council Newfoundland and Labrador (MSCNL) was established to foster and promote a focus on Occupational Health and Safety and Early Safe Return to Work in the municipal sector.

MSCNL is a partnership of municipalities and the provincial federation of labour and is funded through WorkplaceNL. In order to bring a broad representation of views to the efforts of MSCNL, the Board of Directors consists of the following members:


  • Andre Myers, Mayor | Bird Cove (Vice-Chair)
  • Colleen Butler, Manager | Human Resources, Mount Pearl (Secretary)
  • Robert Anstey, Councillor | Gander
  • Chris Milley l Professional Municipal Administrators

Federation of Labour

  • Vina Gould, Employee Relations Officer |  NAPE (Chair)
  • Ed White, National Representative | CUPE (Treasurer)
  • Doug Cadigan | Firefighters
  • Jenna Brookfield | CUPE Health and Safety Representative


  • Craig Pollett, CEO | Municipalities Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Bill Hynd | NL Federation of Labour
  • Andrew Pike | NL Employers Council
  • Dennis Martin | Service NL
  • Charles Coady | WorkplaceNL
  • Kim MacPherson |  Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment

Municipal Safety Council NL Staff

  • Natasha Sharpe – Municipal Safety Advisor

Get Our Newsletter